Page 5 of 7

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 1:08 pm
by Mik
SDK, IDK same thing.

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:13 pm
by kaos
Image

Theirs a problem with me getting things into the engine at the moment.
I cant seem to figure it out.

actually thats not true.
I'm actually able to get models into the engine easy as hell.
the problem is their materials wont show up.....which makes the models invisible.

untill that gets sorted out, I figured Id get started laying out the GUI stuff,
and maybe even use it to test out all those health scripts I wrote a few days ago, if i can.

so in this shot right here you have the HUD guide.
I'll be using it to get everything where it needs to be, and then i should be able to delete the guide all together.

after that I'll see about getting the fonts for it in, and making alternate weapon icons.

I think I'm gonna stick with this engine as long as I can.
I can already see that its going to be good for me to get my ideas out and working fairly quickly.

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 6:54 am
by kaos
ok....

its the first screenshot of the playermodel ingame.

Image

Its been kinda rough, but for the most part the issue seems solved.
of course now theirs another issue.

I think Models are only allowed 1 single texture.
the hero model uses like....
*cough7cough*

So I gotta re texture it before it can get into the game proper.
but for now you can see the geometry is at least there.

The parts of the HUD are all up on on screen

the pink from before was a single image.
the Green are all separate images

later I'll make Hi rez versions of the images that should come out red, or if possible. a color determined by a variable that the player can set.

the "100" and the "none" on the screen
are going to lay over the hud.

the problems with them is that they went get their assess in place good enough.

and also...I havent figured out how to make them update.

pcHEALTH = 100 at the start of the game

I wrote a script were i can "hurt my self" and I can see in parts of the engine, where its defiantly working. however the Gui element refuse to update.
tho i suspect that its purely my fault and not a fault of anything else.

Ammo is in the same situation its what says "none" on the screen atm.


I've tried re doing all the movement controls.
no progress there....yet.

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:41 am
by Chewi
Hey, sorry I haven't been dropping in my usual advice but it looks like you're getting there on your own. This is great. Must feel empowering to be able to do this yourself for once.

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:16 am
by Mik
if it's not updating your not telling it too somewhere.


Somewhere being the bitch.

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:24 am
by kaos
Hey, sorry I haven't been dropping in my usual advice but it looks like you're getting there on your own. This is great. Must feel empowering to be able to do this yourself for once.
It does feel good to have gotten this far, knowing that eventually not only will I be able to create things the look cool, but that actually do equally cool shit.

at the same time tho, I wont really be satisfied until I really crack open the control scheme and make something that feels playable.

The engine site provides some fairly decent documentation. but theirs a few things I'm just not getting. like, well, I'm not there yet, but...
creating types and classes or whatever from scratch.
or telling something to use something else as a reference rather than using the actual...thing.
if it's not updating your not telling it too somewhere.
yeah, I think its got something to do with either the 'picker' or the 'perframe' stuff but I don't know how to actually use either of em yet. I've tried. but theirs something I'm missing.

Image

I fixed the skin,
It was easier than I thought it would be.

the engine does weird things to it tho.

when you get further away from the model all of the seems become more apparent.
when you zoom in, its like the seams don't even exist. Id have thought would have been the other way round.

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 11:10 am
by Chewi
kaos wrote:The engine site provides some fairly decent documentation. but theirs a few things I'm just not getting. like, well, I'm not there yet, but...
creating types and classes or whatever from scratch.
or telling something to use something else as a reference rather than using the actual...thing.
yeah, I think its got something to do with either the 'picker' or the 'perframe' stuff but I don't know how to actually use either of em yet. I've tried. but theirs something I'm missing.
Telling the difference between "by value" and "by reference" is one of the hardest things for a new programmer. Some languages deal with it differently to others, which adds to the confusion. It can still trip me up in Ruby. These two snippets of code would appear to do the same thing but get slightly different results.

Code: Select all

irb(main):001:0> foo = "hello"
=> "hello"
irb(main):002:0> bar = foo
=> "hello"
irb(main):003:0> foo += "bob"
=> "hellobob"
irb(main):004:0> bar
=> "hello"

Code: Select all

irb(main):001:0> foo = "hello"
=> "hello"
irb(main):002:0> bar = foo
=> "hello"
irb(main):003:0> foo.concat "bob"
=> "hellobob"
irb(main):004:0> bar
=> "hellobob"

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 11:39 am
by kaos
Whoa

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 11:40 am
by Mik
<--- admitted coding n00b


could it be that you need to clear the output first?

for example

Health = 100
*damage taken 5*
Health = 0
Health = 95

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:05 pm
by Chewi
Nah. I'm not sure why it's not working but simply deducting 5 from the health variable won't do it unless Lua has some clever tricks up its sleeve. You probably need to update the display with the new health value.

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:15 pm
by kaos
hehe I thought I was updating the display...
but nothing changed except it started getting really laggy.
then i Opend up the ~ menu and saw my health was -6990 and still droping 600 points per second.

I'll get right back to health in just a bit.

but right now...
I've almost cracked the control sceme.

its all a matter of getting the camera to behave.

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:52 am
by kaos
damn. I was on a roll.

but I cant get animated characters to run in the engine.
it just crashes.

so untill thats fixed I i find a work around animation for the game is pretty much on hold.

taking a break from coding today so i can come back at it fresh.
today im going to try and get the ant to about 90%

I'm also thinking about making the jugger even bigger.
Just the size alone should invoke fear in the player.
then they have to wake and realize, it also means to kill them.

CyberDemon

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:09 am
by kaos
health now updates!

trying to figure out how to scroll up text now for the intro story.
when the animation issue gets sorted out, I might try to recreate the menu.

actually, I think I could recreate it now...and just use a non-animated model as a place holder untill the animation bug is sorted

edit: yeah I'll set that up now.
and then try and tell the game to tell the difference between a menu mode and a gameplay mode. and combine and organize all the scripts together in one nice neat file.

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:13 am
by Chewi
Actually putting it all in one file is definitely what you shouldn't do. These things tend to get very big. Code is often split into many small files. Each one can be for something as small as a football, to give you an example from my own work.

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:32 am
by Mik
Modular dude.