I finally got it

The hub of Aura activity, the cortex that binds the forum together.
Post Reply
User avatar
Shane
Not-A-Deserter
Posts: 811
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 5:09 am
Location: Stuck in a coffee cup at the bottom of the sea.

I finally got it

Post by Shane » Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:30 am

The subdomain/hyperlink prefix 'mb' from the old days 'mb.aura-online'
It stands for Message Board
Clever.
User avatar
Chewi
Anti-Hero
Posts: 3517
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 3:51 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: I finally got it

Post by Chewi » Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:45 pm

…I thought you were supposed to be the smart one. :P It was mb.ffaura.com. I'm glad to see no cocksuckers have hijacked ffaura.com after I let it lapse. Speaking of domains, Google have just started selling them. It's so tempting yet probably quite useless to register aura.ninja but they can only be purchased from the US. :( I say useless because although the forums would work, tons of sites would reject chewi@aura.ninja as an e-mail address.
User avatar
Mik
Born under a bad sign
Posts: 3394
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:44 am
Location: Beyond your borders
Contact:

Re: I finally got it

Post by Mik » Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:22 am

I remember a year or three ago, ffalpha was available I considered buying it for the nostalgia, never bothered.

I just checked, it's some bizarre coding blog now.
Wulf
Not-A-Deserter
Posts: 988
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 9:15 am
Location: Belgium

Re: I finally got it

Post by Wulf » Fri Jan 23, 2015 6:50 pm

used to know that url by heart.
User avatar
kaos
Noble Warrior
Posts: 4088
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 3:09 pm
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Re: I finally got it

Post by kaos » Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:47 am

User avatar
Matt
Noble Warrior
Posts: 4543
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 1:39 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: I finally got it

Post by Matt » Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:41 pm

I bagged myself a .dev domain earlier this year when Google started selling them.

Clearly gotten over the angst of having to change all my host file entries mapping my local development environments from .dev after Google changed Chrome to require SSL for .dev domains :(
User avatar
Chewi
Anti-Hero
Posts: 3517
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 3:51 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: I finally got it

Post by Chewi » Mon Jul 29, 2019 10:36 pm

I saw them but eh, one domain is enough for anybody and I'm rather attached to this one. I would like aura.uk but Nominet are a bunch of corrupt bastards. I don't know what the hell they're playing at right now.

What does your hosts file have to do with SSL?
User avatar
Matt
Noble Warrior
Posts: 4543
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 1:39 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: I finally got it

Post by Matt » Tue Jul 30, 2019 8:12 am

Chewi wrote: Mon Jul 29, 2019 10:36 pm I saw them but eh, one domain is enough for anybody and I'm rather attached to this one. I would like aura.uk but Nominet are a bunch of corrupt bastards. I don't know what the hell they're playing at right now.

What does your hosts file have to do with SSL?
Well, I was using "matttest.dev" "somewebsite.dev" for lots of our websites we were developing at the time. Then at some point in 2015 (I think) Google changed Chrome to require SSL for .dev TLDs. So all my host entries had to be changed from .dev to .local.

But it took a week of suffering before we figured it out and found a news article explaining the change.
Post Reply