AI or clever script?

The hub of Aura activity, the cortex that binds the forum together.
kaos
Noble Warrior

AI or clever script?

Post by kaos » Sun Jul 08, 2012 10:31 pm

What exactly is the difference between AI and a really clever script?
is it one in the same? or is their a real clear difference that i haven't been exposed to?

lots of mainstream games tend to make a fuss about AI features, but when I look at them, I'm not seeing much that comes off as what I imagine AI is at all.

Even Facade. not mainsteam, and it had me excited the first couple of playthroughs.
but now It seems pretty straight forward.

I'm thinking about doing some experimenting with NPC characters and personalities for a (possibly non-game) project. but I'd like to have a better understanding before I get started.
Chewi
Anti-Hero

Re: AI or clever script?

Post by Chewi » Mon Jul 09, 2012 7:48 am

Depends what you mean by a script. It's been a long time since I studied AI but I found it fascinating. In very broad terms, it's about getting your code to look at the bigger picture instead of blindly picking what immediately appears to be the best option. In chess, for example, sure that queen looks tempting but you might inevitably lose the game in two more moves if you take it now. Another example you are probably familiar with is that scene from War Games. This kind of decision-making falls under the study of game theory. Despite the name, it's usually applied to things other than video games. It's worth reading about it but it can get quite mathematical. A somewhat separate aspect of AI is machine learning but I doubt it's applied to video games very much. A game that learns your tactics and adjusts accordingly would probably be too damn hard, if not somewhat scary.
Matt
Noble Warrior

Post by Matt » Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:05 am

I have a 600 page book on AI that I need to read through.